Enhance your image by sharing your name (Red patch of 99x104px) above. In addition, you get banner of 590px by 890 px shared below.
We will create a special page in this district folder where you can write about your initiatives and link the two banners to that page.

The amount will be a donation of Rs 3650/- to Developed Nation Network Trust which has 80 G & FCRA. You decide from following 4, where the entire donation will go to.
1) Ashray Akruti Foundation for disabled, 2) Late Wamanrao Oka Raktapedhi (Blood Bank), 3) Yamagarwadi school for nomadics, 4) Education of tribal zone in Thane.
Contact us by email and not by phone or mobile. (Editorial has clear policies on whose banners can be accepted)

Official Website : http://kokrajhar.gov.in

Headquarters : Kokrajhar
State : Assam

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
Total : 3296
Rural : 3279.68
Urban : 16.32

Population (Census 2011)
Population : 887142
Rural : 832201
Urban : 54941
Male : 452905
Female : 434237
Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) : 959
Density (Total, Persons per sq km) : 269

Official language : Assamese

Helplines :
1 Deputy Commissioner 270741 270740 9957434343 270863 270740
2 Addl. Deputy Commissioner 9435107903
3 Addl. Deputy Commissioner 9508854327
4 Addl. Deputy Commissioner 8811030022
5 Circle Officer, Dotma 9435122149
6 Circle Officer, Kokrajhar 9435914140
7 Election Officer 7637815131
8 Treasury Officer 9435322246
9 Finance and Accounts Officer 9435725505
10 SPO 9854317290
11 APO 9401157089
12 APO 9435325503
13 District Informatics Officer 275144 9435127280
Gossaigaon Sub-Division
1 ADC, i/c Gossaigaon 220336 220335 9435120644 220343
2 Circle Officer, Gossaigaon 9435746475
3 Circle Officer, Bhowraguri 7896282379
4 Election Officer, Gossaigaon 9706841435
5 Assistant Commissioner 9864417133
Parbatjhora Sub-Division
1 SDO(C) 8720961941
2 Assistant Commissioner 8638268530

Population (Census 2010) :
The current world population is 7.6 billion (As of 1st July 2018)

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Brief About Kokrajhar District
Kokrajhar is one of the twenty-three districts of Assam and can be described as the gateway to the northeastern region of India. Both road and rail touches this district at Srirampur before they go on to other districts in Assam and the other northeast states. The district has a total area of 3,169.22 sq. km. and a total population of 9,30,404 according to the Census-2001.
Kokrajhar district is located on the north bank of the river Brahmaputra that slices the state of Assam into two, identified as north and south banks. The district lies roughly between 89.46' E to 90.38' E longitudes and 26.19" N to 26.54" N latitudes. The district is bounded on the north by the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan, by Dhubri district on the south, Bongaigaon district on the east and the Indian state of West Bengal on the west.

The district can be easily reached as both the mainline road and rail passes through this district. There are beautiful places to visit in the district, especially in the northern side, where the natural scenery is exquisite. There are also numerous natural picnicking spots. It has to be admitted that these places are yet to be developed as tourist spots. But there is a great deal of scope even now for those who are adventurous and willing to witness the glory of nature in all its rugged beauty.

The kingdom of Bhutan is intricately linked with the district of Kokrajhar in many vital aspects of life of the people living both in the Bhutan hills and the plains of Kokrajhar. There is hassle-free movement of the people across the international border for the purpose of business and tours. The Bhutanese town of Gelephu is a nice place to visit from Kokrajhar as it is just across the international boundary. There is a fine road leading from the Shyamthaibari point on the National Highway 31(C) to Gelephu. Further on, inside Bhutanese territory, there is the town of Sarbhang that also can be visited via Gelephu.

The colourful Bodo community comprises the majority in Kokrajhar district. It also has a sizeable Rajbongshi and Santhal population.

Kokrajhar is also the headquarter of the Bodoland Autonomous Council which was created in 1993.

Kokrajhar was originally a part of undivided Goalpara district. Till 1956, it was merely a small village with a railway station that connected it to the rest of the world. In 1957, when Bimala Prasad Chaliha was the Chief Minister of Assam, a new Civil Sub-division was created after carving out the northern part of Dhubri Sub-division and some parts of Goalpara Sub-division. This new sub-division was called Kokrajhar Sub-division. Goalpara district thus became divided into three sub-divisions. The area covered by the then Kokrajhar Sub-division consisted of five tracts of the Eastern Dooars, viz., Bijni, Sidli, Chirang, Ripu and Guma with a total area of 1569.9 square miles or 4065.88 square kilometres.

On the 1st of July, 1983 the Kokrajhar Sub-division was upgraded into Kokrajhar district with the headquarter at Kokrajhar town. There were four police stations in the new district. They were Bijni, Sidli, Kokrajhar and Gossaigaon. The area of the district extended from the Manas river in the east to the Sonkosh on the west.

In 1989, there was further reorganization of the districts and some new districts were created. Thus, about 40% of the total geographical area of Kokrajhar district was carved out for inclusion in the new district of Bongaigaon. The area delimited from Kokrajhar district to Bongaigaon covers the entire Bijni Revenue Circle along with 347.50 square kilometres of Sidli Circle. Later on 20 villages of Naikgaon G.P. with a total area 40.22 square km under Chapar Revenue Circle of Dhubri district was transferred to Kokrajhar district. The present geographical area of Kokrajhar district is estimated to be 3,169.22 square km.

The district now has two revenue sub-divisions--- Kokrajhar and Gossaigaon Sub-divisions. The river Gongia which is known as Tipkai in the southern part is the natural boundary of two civil sub-divisions. Gossaigaon town is the headquarter of Gossaigaon Sub-division.

The district is situated in a humid sub-tropical climate that is characteristic of the lower Brahmaputra Valley of Assam. There is high rainfall and humidity. The district also has the largest concentration of forest in the state. The soil in the district is fertile and suitable for paddy cultivation.

The water that flows along natural dongs and canals are the main source of irrigation for the agricultural fields. Rain water flow down from the hill tracts of Bhutan and along the foothills and reserve forests of the district. The Bhutan hills are also the source of a number of rivers that flow through the district and act as tributaries of the mighty Brahmaputra that flows from east to west far from the southern boundary of Kokrajhar district. The important rivers of the district that flow from north to south are the Champamati, the Gaurang, the Tipkai and the Sonkosh. There are other rivulets like the Bhur and the colourfully named Laopani. All the rivers and rivulets flowing through the district have their origin in the Bhutan hills.

The soil throughout the district is composed of sand and clay in varying proportion ranging from pure sand in the riverbed to soft clay in different parts. The rocks found in the district are all sedimentary. In the southernmost part of district there are two small hills that are composed of metamorphic rocks. These two hills are called the Dholmara N.C. Hills and Nadanggiri Hills.