Enhance your image by sharing your banner shared below. Share your banner and suggest a link to it. (No banner from portals on CSR, NGO, Donation, Political parties)
To get your banner donate Rs 3650/- to Developed Nation Network Trust which has 80 G & FCRA. You decide from following 4, where the entire donation will go to.
1) Ashray Akruti Foundation for disabled, 2) Late Wamanrao Oka Raktapedhi (Blood Bank), 3) Yamagarwadi school for nomadics, 4) Education of tribal zone in Thane.
Contact us by email and not by phone or mobile. (Editorial has clear policies on whose banners can be accepted)

Official Website : http://erode.nic.in

Headquarters : Erode
State : Tamil Nadu

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
Total : 5760
Rural : 4991.71
Urban : 768.29

Population (Census 2011)
Population : 2251744
Rural : 1093768
Urban : 1157976
Male : 1129868
Female : 1121876
Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) : 993
Density (Total, Persons per sq km) : 391

Offiicial lalnguage : Tamil

Helplines :
State Control Room 1070
Collectorate Control Room 1077, 91 – 424 – 2260211
Collectorate Board 91-424-2260207/08/09/10
Telegram,SMS 78069 17007
Email collrerd [at] nic [dot] in
Police Control Room 100
Accident Help Line 108
Fire and Rescue 101
Ambulance Help Line 102
Child Help line 1098
Disaster Help Line 1077

Population (Census 2010) :
The current world population is 7.6 billion (As of 1st July 2018)

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Brief About Erode District
Erode District lies on the extreme north of Tamil Nadu.  It is bounded mostly by Karnataka State and also River Palar covers pretty long distance.  To the East lies Namakkal and Karur Districts.  Dindigal District is its immediate neighbour to the South and on the West, it has Coimbatore and Nilgiri Districts, as its boundaries.  Thus Erode District is essentially a land-locked area having no sea-cost of its own.   Erode District situated at between 10 36” and 11 58”  North Latitude and   between 76 49” and 77 58”  East  Longitude.

The region comprised in the district can be portrayed as a long undulating plain gently sloping towards the river Cauvery in the south-east.  The three major tributaries of river Cauvery viz. Bhavani, Noyyal and Amaravathy drain the long stretch of mountains in the north.  A part of the eastern boundary of the district is formed by river Cauvery, entering the district from Salem and flowing in a southernly direction.

Brief History of the District and its formation
Erode District was a part of Coimbatore has its history intervened with that of Coimbatore and because of its close linkage with the erstwhile Coimbatore district.  It is very difficult to separately deal with the history of Erode region. Together with the area comprised in the Coimbatore district, it formed part of the ancient Kongu country known as "Kongu Nadu" history of which dates back to the Sangam era. It is found that in the early days, this area was occupied by tribes, most prominent among them being the "Kosars" reportedly having their headquarters at 'Kosamputhur' which is believed to have in due course become Coimbatore. These tribes were overpowered by the Rashtrakutas from whom the region fell into the hands of the Cholas who ruled supreme during the time of Raja Chola. On the decline of Cholas, the Kongunadu came to be occupied by the Chalukyas and later by the Pandyas and Hoysalas. Due to internal dissension in the Pandian Kingdom, the Muslim rulers from Delhi interfered and thus the area fell into the hands of Madurai Sultanate. This region was later wrested by Vijaya Nagar rulers after over throwing the Madurai Sultanate. For a few years, the area remained under Vijaya Nagar rule and later under the independent control of Madurai Nayakas. The rule of Muthu Veerappa Nayak and later that of Tirumalai Nayak were marked by internal strife and intermittent wars which ruined the Kingdom. As a result of this, the Kongu region in which the present Erode District is situated, fell into the hands of the Mysore rulers from whom Hyder Ali took over the area.  Later, consequent of the fall of Tippu Sultlan of Mysore in 1799, the Kongu region came to be coded to the East India Company by the Maharaja of Mysore who was restored to power by the company after defeating Tippu Sulltan. From then, till 1947 when India attained independence, the area remained under British control who initiated systematic revenue administration in the area.

North Latitude : Between   10 - 36'   to    11 - 58'
East Longitude : Between   76 - 49'   to    77 - 58'