Interesting Facts in Zimbabwe
The Republic of Zimbabwe was formerly known as Southern Rhodesia. Zimbabwe means “great houses of stone” in the Shona language.

Zimbabwe became an independent state on 18 April 1980. The capital is Harare.

Zimbabwe has a tropical climate with a rainy season usually from November to March.

Zimbabwe’s main imports are machinery and transport equipment, other manufactures, fuels, food products and chemicals. Their main exports are cotton, gold, platinum, tobacco, ferroalloys and textiles/clothing.

The official languages are English, Shona (a Bantu language) and Ndebele. 70% of the population is Shona and 20% are the second most populous group Ndebele.

About 50% of the population in the country comprises of Syncretics (part Christian and part indigenous beliefs) 25% are Christians and the rest follow indigenous beliefs.

The currencies used are the UK pound, South African rand, Euro, Botswana pula and US dollar. Mineral exports, tourism and agriculture are the main foreign currency earners of the country.

Zimbabwe has a semi-presidential system republic. It has a centralized government and is divided into eight provinces and two cities with provincial status for administrative purposes.

Football, together with rugby union and cricket are the famous sport in the country.

Zimbabwe has an excellent tropical climate. The country is situated on a raised plateau and therefore relatively cooler than its neighbors.