The Okavango river
The Okavango river basin covers a hydrologically active area of approximately 323 192 km2 shared by three countries in southern Africa: Angola, Namibia and Botswana. The Okavango River is the fourth longest river system in southern Africa, running for 1,100 km from central Angola, as the Kubango, through Namibia to the Kalahari in Botswana. The river rises in the headwaters of the Cuito and Cubango tributaries in the highland plateau of Angola at an elevation of 1780 metres.

It derives its principal flow from 120,000 km² of sub-humid and semiarid rangeland in Cuito-Cubango province of Angola before concentrating its flow along the margins of Namibia and Angola and finally spilling into the Okavango fan or ‘delta’ at an elevation of 980 metres. Several rivers become one as the water moves south and east, branching again when it reaches and ends in the Okavango Delta, one of the largest freshwater inland wetlands on the planet. The river delivers about 10 cubic kilometres of surface flow into the Delta system per annum.

Bengo River (Zenza River)
Bentiaba River (Rio de São Nicolau)
Bero River
Caculuvar River
Cambo River
Catumbela River
Chicapa River
Chiloango River
Chiumbe River
Congo River
Coporolo River
Cuando River
Cuanza River
Cubal River
Cuilo River
Cuito River
Cuíva River
Cunene River
Cunhinga River
Curoca River
Cutato River
Cuvo River
Dande River
Inkisi River
Kasai River (Cassai River)
Kwango River (Cuango River)
Kwenge River
Kwilu River (Cuilo River)
Loange River
Loge River
Longa River
Lovua River
Luachimo River
Luando River
Luanginga River (Luio River)
Lucala River
Luena River
Lui River
Luia River
Luiana River
Lungwebungu River (Lungué Bungo River)
Lushiko River
Mbridge River
Quembo River
Quicombo River
Utembo River
Wamba River (Uamba River)
Zambezi River